Friday, July 5, 2013

Review of 'Delirium Stories: Hana, Annabel, & Raven' by Lauren Oliver

Goodreads Description:

For the first time, Lauren Oliver's short stories about characters in the Delirium world appear in print. Originally published as digital novellas, Hana, Annabel, and Raven each center around a fascinating and complex character who adds important information to the series and gives it greater depth. This collection also includes an excerpt from Requiem, the final novel in Oliver's New York Times bestselling series.

Hana is told through the perspective of Lena's best friend, Hana Tate. Set during the tumultuous summer before Lena and Hana are supposed to be cured, this story is a poignant and revealing look at a moment when the girls' paths diverge and their futures are altered forever.

Lena's mother, Annabel, has always been a mystery--a ghost from Lena's past--until now. Her journey from teenage runaway to prisoner of the state is a taut, gripping narrative that expands the Delirium world and illuminates events--and Lena--through a new point of view.

And as the passionate, fierce leader of a rebel group in the Wilds, Raven plays an integral role in the resistance effort and comes into Lena's life at a crucial time. Crackling with intensity, Raven is a brilliant story told in the voice of one of the strongest and most tenacious characters in the Delirium world.

About Author:

Lauren Oliver comes from a family of writers and so has always (mistakenly) believed that spending hours in front of the computer every day, mulling over the difference between “chortling” and “chuckling,” is normal. She has always been an avid reader.

She attended the University of Chicago, where she continued to be as impractical as possible by majoring in philosophy and literature. After college, she attended the MFA program at NYU and worked briefly as the world’s worst editorial assistant, and only marginally better assistant editor, at a major publishing house in New York. Her major career contributions during this time were flouting the corporate dress code at every possible turn and repeatedly breaking the printer. Before I Fall is her first published novel.

She is deeply grateful for the chance to continue writing, as she has never been particularly good at anything else.
My Review:
I loved these stories. I loved the 'Delirium' books and these three short stories give depth and insight into some of the other characters in the trilogy. They take place at different times throughout the series and tell the in-depth stories of the different characters' points of view. And like the 'Delirium' books, the writing and storytelling is beautiful, verbose, and smooth. These stories really seem to tell what the readers of the series already know, but from a different point of view.
Hana tells the story of events from the first book from her point of view. It was definitely interesting gaining insight into Hana. I always liked her character throughout the books and her relationship with Lena, but it broke my heart when I found out she was the one who turned Lena and Alex in to the authorities. This short story helped me see why she did what she did and what she was feeling on the other side of scenes I read in the first book. I loved reading Hana's point of view and enjoyed the extra detail that it brought to the original story.
The story of Annabel tells a little of two stories; her escape from the crypts and how she first met her husband. This story was particularly interesting because even though Annabel is an important character in the trilogy, there isn't a lot of detail about her and her life. She had a unique perspective on deliria, having been alive when the cure was first ruled mandatory. This story was also very fascinating because it told a whole new story that was never in the trilogy. It also gave a glimpse into her feelings toward both Lena and her other daughter, Rachel. This story was a well needed glimpse into Lena's mother and her life.
The third story takes place near the end of the second book and tells the story of Raven and Tack helping Lena save Julian from Raven's point of view. I loved getting a little bit of insight into Raven. She was always such an important, but cold character. The story also recounts when she first met Tack and gives a glimpse into their relationship. This story was interesting and sweet. It was the first glimpse readers really get into their relationship. It definitely made me feel completely differently toward both Raven and Tack.
I thoroughly enjoyed all three of these stories and they all added a bit more depth to the original trilogy. This is definitely a must read for 'Delirium' fans.
My Rating:

No comments:

Post a Comment